Polaris Pro Riders

Author   Comment  
gsxrrx7

Reply with quote  #1 

Ok I brought a used 05 predator LE and I’m new to the whole atv experience. I have however owned a number of sport bikes a gsxr750 was the last one and have ridden them for about 10 years. The question I have, is it normal for predators to have a tendency to wheelie when climbing hills compared to other atv's (hopefully someone has experience with riding multiple quads)? Also is there way to make them more tight trail/hill friendly (sprockets, tires, maybe run it rich)? It already has wheeled straight up on top of a hill twice on me, one time I saved it the other time it rolled on top of me twice (I should have let it go & yes it hurt,lol). There just 20-25ft long 40-50degree inclined rooted trail hills and i ride up them in 1 gear. I have went up these same hills a few time times on a automatic 300cc Polaris machine without issues sitting down not hanging over the handle bars trying to keep the front end planted like on my predator. After it got me, I started trying to set up the suspension hoping to solve the problem as it seemed really stiff or overly harsh compared to my friends 2013 trx400 and 2015 450r which did help out some as the previous owner had the front compression damping adjusted all the way stiff/in  and the rear all the way lose/out, I have the sag at 25% front 35% rear with me on it and the compression damping set at 15 clicks front 10 rear . After that I let my friend with 15 years of experience try and take it up a hill and it came up a bit on him also. He didn’t flip it like me but advised me to sell it and get a trx400 instead.  To me it seems like my predator gets almost to good of traction it will easily wheelie before it breaks the rear tires loses, the throttle seams extremely touchy, almost like it is ether on or off. It does have 22*12*8 carlisle hd field trax tires in the back and 21*7*10 maxxis razr-r in the front, could the rear tires be the issue? I don’t want to